City Council

The Elected Voice of Our City

Council 2013
The Holly Springs City Council sets all policies for the City including fiscal and administrative policy. The councilmembers' terms of office are for four years. Elections occur every two years so terms are staggered.

Each year the City Council selects one of their members to be mayor pro tem. The current mayor pro tem is Michael Zenchuk; he takes on the role of mayor when Mayor Downing is absent.

All wards are city-at-large positions with geographic residency requirements. A map of the geographic wards can be viewed here.

City Council Members

  • Ward 1 - Kyle Whitaker
  • Ward 2 - Dee Phillips   
  • Ward 3 - Michael Zenchuk
  • Ward 4 - Karen Barnett   
  • Ward 5 - Jeremy Smith

Each councilmember serves as chair of one of five committees: Finance & Administration, Parks & Recreation, Planning & Zoning, Police, and Public Works. The committees are made up of the chairperson, a co-chair (who is also a member of the City Council) and the mayor / city manager.

Current Committees

  • Finance & Administration: Michael Zenchuk - Chair; Dee Phillips - Co-Chair
  • Parks & Recreation: Karen Barnett - Chair; Kyle Whitaker - Co-Chair
  • Planning & Zoning: Kyle Whitaker - Chair; Jeremy Smith - Co-Chair
  • Police: Dee Phillips - Chair; Jeremy Smith - Co-Chair
  • Public Works: Michael Zenchuk - Chair; Karen Barnett - Co-Chair
City Council Minutes

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All